Technology

Low latency

Modular 

Gamification

 

Wireless mobile

CUREO® enables mobile rehabilitation and wirelessly connects the patient's headset to the therapist's control tablet. This remote function ensures contact-free therapy. Therapy with CUREO® is therefore mobile - available anywhere and anytime. In this way, training frequency and compliance is significantly increased.

Intuitive usability

Minimal task setting and intuitive usability make CUREO® a tool that is well received by both therapists and patients. The practical setup of this therapy system could significantly reduce costs compared to traditional interventions. VR-based approaches represent a successful therapeutic alternative, especially in scenarios in which conventional rehabilitation is not available.

  1. O'Neil, O. et al. (2018)

  2. Massetti, T. et al. (2018)

Gamification

The large number of people playing games has led game designers to develop efficient technologies and interaction techniques that create long-lasting and motivating experiences. The knowledge and experience gained in the field of gamification within the entertainment industry can easily be adopted for therapeutic use.

Playing has always had an important role in the learning of skills for humans. In the course of growing up children learn by intracting with their environment in playful ways. This is driven by curiosity and consolidated by a sense of achievement. There is a natural tendency to gain experience and learn skills through playful challenges.

Experiencing therapy in a playful way

We use playfulness, which does not come to a standstill even in adulthood and advanced age, to motivate people to relearn skills. This approach is much more efficient than a therapy situation driven only by necessity, because it has an added positive neurochemical effect on the person's condition. For example, there are studies that show that playing games significantly increases dopamine and serotonin levels and that learning through play has a marked positive effect on the consolidation of memory.

Gamification for Parkinson's patients

Game-based therapy methods have had great success in the field of rehabilitation. The playful character has a positive effect, especially with regard to the participation and motivation of Parkinson's patients. Studies show that motor training of the upper extremities is more effective in stroke patients when performed as a game-based therapy.

Our virtual therapy modules offer a playful character that integrates the movement sequences that are important for recovery into small "games". For example, fruit is to be picked from a tree and put in a basket to encourage certain arm movements. Playful therapy creates higher motivation, more repetitions, and faster recovery.

  1. Kuhn, S. et al. (2014)

  2. Kuhn, S. et al. (2011)

  3. Lorenz, R. C. et al. (2015)

  4. Chen, W. et al. (2020)

  5. Karamians, R. et al. (2020)

 
 

Modular

We use a modular developmental environment to program a maximally customisable system. In this way, new functionalities can be iteratively added and adapted in the development process if the needs of the patient so require.

Since the patients' needs do not remain static, but can change dynamically in the course of the treatment, the programming must also be flexible. This requires agile programming and a modular system in order to meet technological requirements.

Adaptable to specific objectives

The second aspect of our modular programming is that we offer an open interface system. New hardware and new functionalities such as eye-tracking or additional body- and biosensors can be seamlessly integrated and added to the patient's existing biomechanical body model.

In line with this apprach, one study reports that VR environments engage and motivate patients more than therapies in traditional settings. In this way,  the increased participation in the adaptive game-like exercises also leads to improved therapy outcomes.

The CUREO® software is divided into various modules that build on each other, are expandable and address the specific objectives of rehabilitation. Individual therapy units and game applications of different performance levels can be combined flexibly and are presented in a patient-friendly way.

  1. Maggio, M. G. et al. (2019)

  2. Dascal, J. et al. (2017)

 
 

Low latency

Users of conventional VR systems at times complain of discomfort and motionsickness. This is often due to technical deficiencies but also due to the lack of medical experience of the developers.

During the technical development of CUREO®, the focus was on the neurophysiological fundamentals of the patient, so that a system with extremely low latency (time delay) between perception and movement was created.

Higher motivation through low latency

For an immersive and vertigo-free experience, CUREO® has optimised both the movement tracking and the presentation. Thus, movements with the hand or the head are transferred directly into the virtual action.

Another benefit is the unique speed of the feedback, i.e. the feedback to the patient. The CUREO® software thus offers a highly efficient feedback system for time-critical stimuli.

The great importance of accurate feedback for exercises in virtual reality is mentioned in numerous studies. The consideration of feedback latency is therefore of great importance for the success of the therapy. Furthermore, low latency has been shown to increase patient‘s cooperation and motivation.

  1. Zimmerli, L. et al. (2013)

  2. Cooper, N. et al. (2018)

  3. Waltemate, T. et al. (2015)

Avatar

The avatar is based on a biomechanical movement model that is tracked in real time.

The use of an avatar in a virtual environment has been explored for a variety of applications, including movement rehabilitation and neuroregulation.

* The complete literature references can be found here: 
https://www.cureosity.de/literaturangaben?lang=en

It was found that the image of an avatar can prime the motor system for optimal response, using the validated approach of mirror therapy. Avatars have been reported to increase patient performance and engagement.

  1. Lopez, C. E., & Tucker, C. S. (2017)

  2. Karamians, R. et al. (2020)

Technologie

Geringe Latenz

Modular 

Gamification

 

Drahtlos mobil

CUREO ermöglicht mobile Rehabilitation und verbindet das Headset des Patienten drahtlos mit dem Steuertablett des Therapeuten. Durch diese Remote-Funktion kann eine kontaktfreie Therapie gewährleistet werden. Die Therapie mit CUREO ist somit mobil, überall und jederzeit verfügbar. Die Therapiefrequenz sowie -einhaltung wird erheblich erhöht.

Intuitive Bedienbarkeit

Minimale Aufgabeneinstellung und intuitive Bedienbarkeit machen CUREO zu einem Tool, das sowohl von Therapeuten als auch von Patienten gut angenommen wird. Die praktische Einrichtung dieses Therapiesystems könnte die Kosten im Vergleich zu herkömmlichen Interventionen erheblich senken. Insbesondere in Szenarien, in denen keine konventionelle Rehabilitation verfügbar ist, stellen VR-basierte Ansätze eine erfolgreiche therapeutische Alternative dar.

  1. O'Neil, O. et al. (2018)

  2. Massetti, T. et al. (2018)

Gamification

Die große Anzahl der Spielenden hat dazu geführt, dass die Spieleentwickler effiziente Technologien und Interaktionstechniken entwickelt haben, welche Erlebnisse schaffen, die langanhaltend und hochmotivierend sind. Das Wissen und die Erfahrung, die im Bereich Gamification innerhalb der Unterhaltungsindustrie gewonnen wurden, können auch für den therapeutischen Bereich sehr gut genutzt werden.

Das Spielen hat für den Menschen schon immer eine wichtige Bedeutung für das Lernen von Fähigkeiten gehabt. Spielerisch lernt das Kleinkind im Laufe seines Heranwachsens die Umwelt kennen. Es wird durch Neugierde getrieben, durch Erfolgserlebnisse bestätigt und lernt im Spielen sich körperlich zu bewegen und mit den Herausforderungen der Umwelt umzugehen. Es gibt also eine natürliche Grundtendenz beim Lernen, durch spielerische Herausforderungen Erfahrungen zu sammeln und Fähigkeiten zu erlernen.

Therapie spielerisch erleben

Wir nutzen diese Grundfunktion, die auch im Erwachsenen- und fortgeschrittenen Alter nicht zum Erliegen kommt, um Menschen zum Wiedererlernen von Fähigkeiten zu motivieren. Dieser Ansatz ist sehr viel effizienter, als eine nur durch die Notwendigkeit getriebene Therapiesituation, weil sich dies auch neurochemisch sehr positiv auf die Verfassung des Menschen auswirkt. Zum Beispiel gibt es Studien, die belegen, dass im Spielen auch der Dopamin- und Serotoninspiegel ansteigt und dass spielerisches Lernen auch die Konsolidierung des Erlernten günstig beeinflusst.

Gamification für Parkinson-Patienten

Spielbasierende Therapiemethoden haben große Erfolge im Bereich der Rehabilitation. Insbesondere in Bezug auf die Teilnahme und Motivation von Parkinson-Patienten, wirkt sich der spielvolle Charakter positiv aus. Eine weitere Studie belegt, dass motorisches Training der oberen Extremitäten bei Schlaganfall-Patienten effektiver ist, wenn es als spielbasierte Therapie ausgeführt wird.

Unsere virtuellen Therapiemodule bieten einen spielerischen Charakter, der die für die Genesung wichtigen Bewegungsabläufe in kleine "Games" einbindet. Beispielsweise soll Obst von einem Baum gepflückt und in einem Korb verstaut werden, um bestimmte Armbewegungen zu fördern. Spielerische Therapie schafft eine höhere Motivation, eine größere Anzahl an Wiederholungen und eine schnellere Genesung.

  1. Kuhn, S. et al. (2014)

  2. Kuhn, S. et al. (2011)

  3. Lorenz, R. C. et al. (2015)

  4. Chen, W. et al. (2020)

  5. Karamians, R. et al. (2020)

 
 

Modular

Wir nutzen eine modulare Entwicklungsumgebung, um ein maximal anpassbares System zu programmieren. So können im Entwicklungsprozess iterativ neue Funktionalitäten hinzugefügt und angepasst werden, wenn die Bedürfnisse des Patienten es erfordern.

Da die Bedürfnisse der Patienten nicht statisch bleiben, sondern sich auch im Verlauf der Behandlung dynamisch ändern können, muss auch die Programmierung entsprechend flexibel sein. Das erfordert ein agiles Programmieren und ein modulares System, um auch technologische Voraussetzungen zu erfüllen.

An spezfische Zielsetzungen anpassbar

Der zweite Aspekt unserer modularen Programmierung besteht darin, dass wir ein Schnittstellen-offenes System anbieten. Neue Hardware und neue Funktionalitäten, wie zum Beispiel Eye-Tracking oder weitere Körper- oder Biosensoren, lassen sich nahtlos integrieren und in das bestehende, biomechanische Körpermodell des Patienten einfügen.

Eine Studie berichtet, dass VR-Umgebungen Patienten mehr einbinden und motivieren als Therapien in herkömmlichen Umgebungen. Die gesteigerte Teilnahme an den sich anpassenden spielerischen Übungen führt darüberhinaus zu einem verbesserten Therapieerlebnis.

Die CUREO-Software ist in verschiedene Module gegliedert, die aufeinander aufbauen, erweiterbar sind und die spezifischen Zielsetzungen der Rehabilitation adressieren. Einzelne Therapieeinheiten und Spieleapplikationen verschiedener Leistungslevel lassen sich flexibel und patientengerecht kombinieren.

  1. Maggio, M. G. et al. (2019)

  2. Dascal, J. et al. (2017)

 
 

Geringe Latenz

Nutzer konventioneller VR-Systeme klagen oft über Unwohlsein und Motionsickness. Dies liegt oft an technischen Mängeln, aber auch an der mangelnden medizinischen Erfahrung der Entwickler.

Bei der technischen Entwicklung von CUREO standen die neurophysiologischen Grundlagen der Patienten im Fokus, sodass ein System mit außerordentlich geringer Latenz (zeitliche Verzögerung) zwischen Wahrnehmung und Bewegung geschaffen wurde.

Mehr Motivation durch geringe Latenz

Für ein immersives und schwindelfreies Erlebnis hat CUREO sowohl das Bewegungstracking als auch die Dartstellung optimiert. So werden Bewegungen mit der Hand oder dem Kopf direkt in das virtuelle Geschehen übertragen.

Ein weiterer Benefit ist die einzigartige Schnelligkeit der Rückkopplung, also dem Feedback an den Patienten. Die CUREO-Software bietet somit ein hocheffizientes Feedbacksystem für zeitkritische Reizsetzungen.

Die große Bedeutung eines akkuraten Feedbacks bei Übungen in Virtual Reality wird in zahlreichen Studien erwähnt. Die Berücksichtigung der Latenz für solches Feedback ist daher für den Therapieerfolg von großer Bedeutung. Eine geringe Latenz steigert die Mitarbeit und die Motivation der Patienten.

  1. Zimmerli, L. et al. (2013)

  2. Cooper, N. et al. (2018)

  3. Waltemate, T. et al. (2015)

Avatar

Der Avatar basiert auf einem biomechanischen Bewegungsmodell, das in Echtzeit getrackt wird.

Die Verwendung eines Avatars in einer virtuellen Umgebung wurde in Bezug auf eine Vielzahl von Anwendungen untersucht, einschließlich Bewegungsrehabilitation und Neuroregulation.

Es wurde festgestellt, dass das Bild eines Avatars das motorische System für eine optimale Reaktion vorbereiten kann, wobei der validierte Ansatz der Spiegeltherapie verwendet wird. Es wurde berichtet, dass Avatare die Leistung und das Engagement des Patienten steigern.

  1. Lopez, C. E., & Tucker, C. S. (2017)

  2. Karamians, R. et al. (2020)